Frequently Asked Questions

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

HOW CAN I TAKE MY PERMIT PRACTICE TEST?

Attention students to become future drivers!

The DMV has this free online service that will help our students prepare for the driver knowledge test and become safe drivers.

Here is the link to the Wisconsin practice tests.

HOW DO I TAKE DRIVER'S EDUCATION?

Drivers license requirements are offered at SPHS in association with the State of Wisconsin DMV. Students must complete:

-30 hours of classroom instruction.
-Temporary License exam (Age 15 1/2)
-12 hours of Behind the Wheel (6 Driving, 6 Observing)

The Behind the Wheel fee of $225 must be paid prior to taking the temporary exam which is offered at SPHS.

6 certified instructors and 3 vehicles (Chevrolet Malibu's), allows for flexible scheduling of lessons.

The class is offered every 9 weeks during the school year and twice in the summer. (2-three week sessions)

1/4 credit is earned by taking the class.

For more information please contact Mr. Olson at the High School at 608-225-3601

HOW DOES MY STUDENT APPLY FOR A PARKING PERMIT?

Student parking areas are furnished to students as a privilege. Students must park in the student parking area only and cannot park in designated visitor spaces. Students parking in unauthorized spaces can receive a fine of $30.00 for each offense. Availability of student parking spaces is limited, so students who drive to school or leave during the school day should plan accordingly.

Parking is authorized by permit only and permits must be purchased and appropriately displayed. All rules and regulations apply to all motor-driven vehicles. Ability to purchase a parking permit cannot be guaranteed.

Parking permits will be issued during registration week in August on a seniority basis by credit standing. Students will receive a list of parking lot and permit regulations at the time of registration.

When purchasing a parking permit, the student and parent/guardian will be required to sign a notice that parking illegally may cause the vehicles to be ticketed and/or towed.  Students and parents/guardians will be responsible for all fines and towing charges. School officials are permitted to search vehicles with reasonable suspicion.

The parking lot is considered an extension of the school building and all appropriate behavior expected in the building will also be expected in the parking lot. Any inappropriate behavior including, but not limited to, reckless driving will be subject to disciplinary action.

WHAT IS EXPECTED IT FROM STUDENTS IN THERE PARKING AREA?

Parking spots have been numbered and these are the New Guidelines to be followed. Also here are the Parking Maps with the numbers and lots for our reference.   

what do i need for a work permit?

Information regarding work permits, including required documentation can be found here.

Minors under 16 years of age can obtain a work permit from the High School office from August 1st - June 30th during office hours. Have your student bring documentation from their employer and $10.

Permits can also be obtained from the Hebl, Hebl, and Ripp law office located at 1150 W. Main Street, Sun Prairie.

Please contact Whitney Higley at the High School with any questions at 608.834.6716 or wmhigle@sunprairieschools.org.

HOW DO I GET MY TRANSCRIPT?

After graduation, a transcript might be required for a variety of reasons. Sun Prairie works with Parchment so our alumni can access their transcripts. Find out more information here.

WHAT IS OUR CLOTHING & GROOMING POLICY?

Read more information about the Clothing & Grooming (previously Dress Code) at Sun Prairie High School.