

## Proclamation in Recognition of National Native American Heritage Month

**WHEREAS**, in 1990 Congress requested that President Bush designate November as National Native American Heritage Month in recognition of the rich history and culture of the country's native population; and

**WHEREAS**, since 1995 Presidents Clinton, George W. Bush, Obama, and Trump have issued annual proclamations which designate November as National American Indian Heritage Month, known since 2009 as National Native American Heritage Month or more commonly as American Indian and Alaska Heritage Month; and

WHEREAS, Wisconsin is home to 11 federally-recognized tribes: Bad River Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, Ho-Chunk Nation, Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, Menominee Tribe of Wisconsin, Oneida Nation, Forest County Potawatomi, Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, St. Croix Chippewa, Sokaogon Chippewa (Mole Lake), and Stockbridge-Munsee, in addition to other, non-federally-recognized tribes; and

**WHEREAS**, the Board of Education recognizes that the district currently exists on the ancestral homeland of the Ho-Chunk Nation, known as the People of the Sacred Voice, who resided on these lands for over three ice ages before being forcibly removed throughout the 1830s to Iowa, Minnesota, South Dakota and finally to Nebraska where many Ho-Chunk still live today as the Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska; and

**WHEREAS**, as the First Americans, Native Americans have helped shape our nation at every point since before it's founding including being the inspiration for the ideals of self-governance and determination that are the framework of the government; and

**WHEREAS**, the Wisconsin Legislature passed Education Act 31, the statutory requirement that all school districts provide instruction in the history, culture, and tribal sovereignty of the American Indian nations in the state; and

**WHEREAS**, the Board of Education twice passed a resolution recommending legislation be passed requiring that school districts in Wisconsin retire the use of Native American mascots. symbols. images, logos, and nicknames;

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED**, that the Sun Prairie Board of Education proclaims that the month of November is recognized as National Native American Heritage Month in the Sun Prairie Area School District.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that the Sun Prairie Area School District Board of Education strongly encourages our staff and community members to observe, recognize and celebrate the culture, heritage, traditions, languages and stories of Native Americans and ensure their rich histories and contributions can thrive with each passing generation.

**IN WITNESS WHEREOF**, this resolution was duly adopted by the Board of Education of the Sun Prairie Area School District on the 25th of October, 2021.

Steve Schroeder, President
Bryn Horton, Vice President
Dave Hoekstra, Treasurer
Carol Sue Albright, Clerk
Tom Weber, Governance Officer/Deputy Clerk
Caren Diedrich, Board Member
Alwyn Foster, Board Member
Sarah Rhoads, Student Representative
Carson Schmoldt, Student Representative