Board of Education

Meet the School Board

The Sun Prairie Area School District Board of Education is made up of seven elected community members to serve three-year terms. All elections are nonpartisan and are held in the April primary election in even numbered years. The superintendent is appointed by the Board.

School Board Group Photo

At the Sun Prairie Area School District: We stand by all of our students, staff, and families.

The Sun Prairie Area School District celebrates and values our diverse community. We support and are inclusive of all students, staff, families, and community members of all races, ethnicities, faiths, national origins, immigration statuses, political viewpoints, abilities, sexual orientations, and gender identities.

We stand by our students with disabilities and their families.  We will continue to staunchly protect the rights of people of all abilities.

All children will be safe and loved in our schools…..Every Child, Every Day.

The School Board generally meets the second and fourth Mondays of each month at Sun Prairie City Hall, 300 E. Main Street or at the District Office, 501 S. Bird Street.

  • Meetings begin at 6:30 pm and are televised live on Charter cable channel 983, streamed live online at, and broadcast on 103.5 FM, The Sun Community Radio.
  • During School Board meetings, the agenda will automatically advance with the topic before the board.
  • School Board meeting notices, agendas, and minutes are posted on Board Docs, our electronic system.

Dr. Steve Schroeder, President

Tenure: June 2012 to April 2019

Committees & Liaison Appointments:
School Ambassador to C.H. Bird Elementary School, Westside Elementary School and District Office

Contact Information:
1300 Fitness Run, Sun Prairie, WI 53590
608.834.4005 Home
608.347.9324 Cell

Tom Weber, Vice President
Tenure: April 2011 to April 2020

Committees and Liaison Appointments:
Dane County School Board Consortium, WASB Board of Director (Region 12). School Ambassador to Royal Oaks Elementary and Cardinal Heights Upper Middle School.

Contact Information:
2243 Innsbrooke Drive, Sun Prairie, WI 53590
608.235.0963 Cell
Carol Sue Albright, Clerk

Tenure: April 2014 to April 2020

Committees and Liaison Appointments:
Legislative Liaison, Sun Prairie Education Foundation, School Ambassador to Northside Elementary and Sun Prairie High School

Contact Information:
865 Jerico Lane, Sun Prairie, WI 53590

Dave Hoekstra, Treasurer & Governance Officer

Tenure: April 2015 to April 2019

Committee and Liaison Appointments:
City Planning Commission, TIF Board, School Ambassador to Token Springs Elementary and Prairie View Middle School

Contact Information:
1077 Virdon Drive, Sun Prairie, WI 53590

Marilyn Ruffin, Member

Tenure: April 2015 to April 2021

Committees and Liaison Appointments:
Business and Education Partnership, School Ambassador to Creekside Elementary School and Prairie Phoenix Academy

Contact Information:
Home Address and Phone
1555 Wild Iris Street, Sun Prairie, WI 53590

Bryn Horton, Deputy Clerk

Tenure: April 2018 to April 2021

Committees and Liaison Appointments:
CESA #2 Delegate, Youth and Family Commission, Community Schools, School Ambassador to Eastside Elementary School and Patrick Marsh Middle School

Contact Information:
669 Sanibel Lane,
Sun Prairie, WI 53590

Caren Diedrich, Member

Tenure: April 1998 to April 2019

Committees and Liaison Appointments:
Chamber of Commerce, School Ambassador to Horizon and Meadow View Elementary School

Home Address and Phone
393 Bella Way, Sun Prairie, WI 53590

Emily Flood, Student Member

Emily Flood is an 11th grade student

Emily was the Sophomore class president and was the Freshman Student Council president. She is also an active member of the Yearbook club. Emily is also working on her Gold Award, the highest level in the Girl Scouts.

Aisha Tunkara, Student Member

Aisha Tunkara is a 12th grade student at Sun Prairie High School.

Aisha participates in MSAN, BSU, and Amnesty International. She has high expectations for herself and others. She is a leader in our school and just an overall positive role model for all students.

School Board at Graduation